Visibility

Visibility is an important concept to keep in mind when using Configuration Manager. In Ooyala Flex, you might have an Object that is only visible to certain Accounts, Groups, Workspaces etc. For example: you might wish to push an Object from your source environment to your target environment, but if you push an Object configuration with all the groups, and all the Accounts that the Object is being referenced by, the move will fail.

Note: When you change the visibility information for an Object, the revision code remains the same.

When you deploy an Object configuration with a specific visibility, you have two options:

A) Mapping the Visibility: Configuration Manager tries to map the visibility for the Object coming from the source, by finding out the visibility referenced Objects in the target environment (using the UUID). For example: you would find out which Accounts and Groups reference that Object, and you then try to re-establish that relationship. In order to keep the visibility you must execute the --keep_visibility yes command when you open open a new change session.

For example: open --source name_of_source_env --target name of target env --keep_visibility yes

B) Swapping Visibility: You can deploy the Object without the visibility, if you feel that the visibility is not that important. In this case, the Object will be set up with default visibility, e.g Master User. You can then go into the target environment and manually change the visibility for that Object if you wish. If you don't wish to keep the visibility from your source environment, you must execute the --keep_visibility no command when you open open a new change session.

Example: open --source name_of_source_env --target name_of_target env --keep_visibility no

Note: If you execute the following command without specifying yes or no, the visibility from your source environment will be kept by default.

Was this article helpful?