Adding and Removing Items

Creating and updating a Workflow involves adding items to, and removing items from, the Workflow Palette. Items can be either Nodes, Transitions or Transition Names. Typically a User adds Nodes and then connects them with Transitions. Along the way they configure their Nodes and Transitions by assigning names, descriptions and other configuration details.

Note: The below options are not available if the Workflow designer is in Edit Layout Mode.

Adding a Node

To add a Node to the Workflow Canvas:

1) Convert to Select Mode. This is the default mode and allows you to select items from Workflow Palette and add them to the Workflow Canvas.

2) Select a Node from the Workflow Palette. Start with a Start Node as every Workflow must have exactly one Start Node

3) Click once on the Canvas where you want your new Start Node to appear.

4) Configure your new Node by providing a name a description and any other options available. Although the Workflow Designer automatically creates a name, it is a good idea to create a more meaningful name.

Note: If you add an Action or Task Node to the Canvas you are also expected to select a Configuration from the Config tab.

Note: You can also assign a Config to an Action or Task Node or Delete the Node by right-clicking on the Node when it is selected.

Adding a Transition

Once you have more than one Node on your Canvas you can add a Transition to link the two Nodes together. Adding a Transition is a two step process where you first click on the start Node and then click on the end Node.

Note: It is important to consider how your Workflow will be launched at this stage of your Workflow design. For example if this is a Workflow that will be launched as a User Job or embedded in another Workflow, then you should not add an Ingest Action.

To add a Transition to the Workflow Canvas:

1) Click on the Transition button, either in the Control Bar or in the Workflow Pallet.

2) Click once on the Node you would like the Transition to start from. This will disable all Nodes which do not currently support being linked to from the start Node. This will help you identify which Nodes are available for you to connect your transition to.

3) Click once on the Node you would like the Transition to end at.

4) Once you've added your Transition, revert to Select mode and select your new Transition by clicking on it.

Alterely, simply press your escape key.

5) Configure your new Transition by adding a name and description. Although the Workflow Designer automatically creates a name, it is a good idea to create a more meaningful name.

Note: You can switch back to Select Mode at any time by pressing your escape key.

Note: You will notice that if a Transition has a name it will be displayed next to the Transition on the Canvas. This item is referred to as a Transition Name. The Transition Name can be highlighted in its own right and dragged around to make it more readable. If you delete this item, then the name belonging to the Transition is set to null.

Note: When assigning a name to a Node or a Transition, the Workflow Designer will not allow you to set a name that is the same as an existing Node or Transition in this Workflow.

Removing Items

The approach to removing items from the Workflow Canvas is the same for all item types (Nodes, Transitions and Transition Names).

1) Convert to Select Mode. This is the default mode and allows you to highlight items on the Workflow Canvas.

2) Click once on a Node, Transition or Transition Name.

3) Click the Delete button in the Control Bar.

4) The item will be removed from the Workflow Canvas.

Note:You can also delete any highlighted item (Node, Transition, Transition Name) by right-clicking on it and selecting delete.

Note: If you delete a Node then all Transitions and Transitions Names directly connected to it are also deleted.

Note: You can also delete highlighted items by pressing your Delete key.

Was this article helpful?