Enabling and Disabling Objects
Most object types in Ooyala Flex support enabling and disabling. Disabling provides a safe way to configure an object without impacting the operation of Ooyala Flex. When an object is first created, it is disabled. In this state it can be edited but cannot be used by the wider system. Once an object is enabled it can be used by the wider system and cannot be edited.
When disabling an object you will see a warning message if there is a currently enabled object that references this object. When this happens you must first disable the objects that references this object. This functionality ensures that the super user is aware of dependencies and can safely handle them without inadvertently breaking functionality in Ooyala Flex.
You can avoid these warnings by first checking whether the object you are disabling is currently referenced, in the References tab.
Note: Some objects that support further configuration will not allow you to enable them until they have been fully configured. For example, if you create a new workflow definition and do not create the workflow design, then Ooyala Flex will not allow you to enable it.
Enabling an Object
When creating an object that supports being enabled and disabled, it will not be usable in the wider system until it has been enabled.
1) Click the Enable option, which can be accessed from the toolbar, within any Object Setting view.
2) A notification box will be displayed, asking whether you want to enable the object. Simply click the Yes button to disable the object.
3) You will be shown the Disable icon, which indicates that the object is currently enabled.
Disabling an Object
1) To disable an object, simply click the Disable option from the toolbar within the object setting view.
2) A notification box will be displayed asking whether you want to disable the object. Simply click the Yes button to disable the object.