Adding and Removing Items

Creating and updating a workflow involves adding items to, and removing items from, the Workflow panel. Items can be either nodes, transitions, or transition names. Typically you add nodes and then connect them with transitions. You can configure your nodes and transitions by assigning names, descriptions, and other configuration details.

Adding a Node

To add a node to the canvas, follow these steps:

1) Convert to Select Mode: This is the default mode, which you can use to select items from the Workflow panel and add them to the canvas.

2) Select a node from the Workflow panel. Begin with a Start node, as every Workflow must have exactly one Start node.

3) Click once anywhere on the canvas where you want the new Start node to appear, and the node is placed on the canvas.

4) Configure the new node by providing a name, a description, and any other options available. Although the Workflow Designer automatically creates a name, it is a good idea to create a more meaningful name.

Note: If you add an action or task node to the canvas, you must also select a configuration from the Configuration tab. In the example below, you can see configuration selected for an ingest node.

Note: You can also assign a configuration to an action or task node, or delete the node by right-clicking on the node when it is selected.

Adding a Transition

Once you have more than one node on your canvas you can add a transition to link the two nodes together. Adding a transition is a two step process where you first click on the start node and then click on the End node.

Note: It is important to consider how your workflow will be launched at this stage of your workflow design. For example if this is a workflow that will be launched as a user job or embedded in another workflow, then you should not add an ingest action.

To add a transition to the workflow canvas, follow these steps:

1) Click on the Transition button, either in the Control panel or in the Workflow panel.

2) Click once on the node you would like the transition to start from. This disables all nodes that do not currently support being linked to from the Start node. This will help you identify which nodes are available for you to connect your transition to.

3) Click and drag the transition arrow to the node you would like the transition to end at.

4) Once you've added your transition, revert to Select mode, and select your new transition by clicking on it. Alternatively, you can press your Esc key.

5) Configure the new transition by adding a name and an optional description. Although the Workflow Designer automatically creates a name, it is a good idea to create a more meaningful one.

Note: You can switch back to Select mode at any time by pressing the Esc key.

Note: If a transition has a name, it is displayed next to the transition on the canvas. The transition name can be highlighted in its own right and dragged around to make it more readable. If you delete this item, then the name belonging to the transition is set to null.

Note: When assigning a name to a node or a transition, you cannot set a name that is the same as an existing node or transition in this workflow.

Removing Items

The approach to removing items from the workflow canvas is the same for all item types (nodes, transitions, and transition Names).

1) Convert to Select mode. This is the default mode and allows you to highlight items on the workflow canvas.

2) Click once on a node, transition or transition name.

3) Click the Delete button in the Control panel.

4) The item is removed from the workflow canvas.

Note: You can also delete any highlighted item (node, transition, transition name) by right-clicking on it and selecting Delete from the menu.

Note: If you delete a node, then all transitions and transitions names directly connected to it are also deleted.

Note: You can also delete highlighted items by pressing the Delete key.

Was this article helpful?