Edit Mode View

In Edit mode view, you can create a new workflow altogether, or a new version of an existing workflow. In this mode, whenever you save your work a new version is created.

When you click the Click to Create new Graph option, the Workflow Designer will open in a separate pop-out window.

In Edit Mode view, on the left-hand side of the designer, you will see the workflow panel. This panel houses three sub-panels. These sub-panels are as follows:

Control Panel

The control panel houses several options which help you control the Workflow Designer. These options are as follows:

:The Save icon enables you to save your workflow definition.

:The Reload icon enables you to reload the page.

:The Delete option can be used to delete a currently selected node or transition on the canvas.

:The Select option allows you to select, and then place new nodes and transitions on the canvas, as well as move existing ones around the canvas.

:The Grid option lets you show/hide the grid squares. Sometimes having the grid on show, can make it easier to neatly position your nodes.

:The Valid? option gives you the ability to validate your workflow definition once it has been created. You must validate your workflow in order to ensure that there are no errors. If there are errors in your workflow definition, you will not be able to save and run it.

Components Panel

The components panel houses all the different types of nodes that can be put into your workflow definition. The components panel is divided up into three sections. These sections are as follows:

Table 1.

Basic: The Basic section contains essential workflow nodes. For example: every workflow definition must have a start node and an end node.

Workflow: The Workflow section contains various automated workflow nodes, such as Launch, Validate, Wait, and Set Metadata.

Resource: The Resource section contain asset related nodes, such as Delete, Purge, Export, and Rename.

Current Item Panel

The Current Item panel displays a list of editable fields that are associated with the currently selected node or transition. For example: if you were to select an existing transition on the canvas, you would see Name and Description fields in the Current Item panel, which can be edited.

Was this article helpful?