Syndication with YouTube

For YouTube syndication (that is, exporting videos to YouTube), Backlot automatically uploads the source files of videos directly to YouTube, which handles all transcoding and the generation of preview images.

Syndication Occurs in One Direction

Syndication with YouTube is "one-way": your content and settings in Backlot are pushed to YouTube.
Settings and content on YouTube are not pulled back into Backlot.

One YouTube Syndication per YouTube Account

You can have only one YouTube syndication for a single YouTube account. For example, if you have YouTube accounts abc@abc.com and xyz@abc.com, abc@abc.com has its YouTube syndication and xyz@abc.com must have a separate YouTube syndication.

YouTube Account Limits

Ooyala does not impose a limit on the size and duration of videos files that you syndicate to YouTube. These limits are determined by your relationship with YouTube (your YouTube account settings). Ignore the message in the Backlot UI shown below.

How YouTube Handles Changes

YouTube does not let you replace the content of a previously uploaded (or syndicated) video. Instead, YouTube assigns any new video content a new identifier (ID). Because of this design, many changes you make to assets or settings on Backlot cause YouTube to create new video identifiers, including the following:
  • Changing a video's name
  • Changing other details, such as description
  • Changing the video's metadata
  • Removing labels from the video, either with the Backlot UI or by editing the feed itself to remove the label. The videos formerly associated with that label are deleted from YouTube.
  • Privacy settings. If you change privacy settings on YouTube, when Backlot updates YouTube, your former changes on YouTube are lost, including statistics relating to the account.

    Backlot supports only two YouTube privacy settings: public or private. When you create a YouTube syndication, by default your videos are public on YouTube. You can change this default, as detailed in the final step below.

    Changing the privacy setting affects only videos added to the syndication after the change. To change the privacy setting on videos previously syndicated to YouTube, change the setting on the individual asset with the MANAGE page, Details subtab for the specific asset, as shown in the following example.

Was this article helpful?