Validating and Saving
Your Metadata Definition is automatically validated as you add and configure your Fields. Every Field that is added to the Metadata Canvas must have a valid name and display name. The following rules apply:
• Both name and display name are mandatory.
• If a Field has already been saved, the name will no longer be editable. It will be greyed out.
• The Field name and display name cannot be more than 50 characters each in length
• The Field name can only comprise lower case letters, numbers and hyphens. For example, "a-field-name"
• The Field name must be unique within the current Metadata Definition. If you try and enter a non-unique name, the text will change to a red colour as shown below:
Saving your Metadata
1) Once you have created your Metadata Definition, click the Save button in the Control Bar.
2) The Metadata Designer will notify you that the Metadata Definition is being saved.
3) The Metadata Designer will inform you that the Metadata Definition been saved.
The Save button is only enabled if a change has been made to the Metadata design since it was last saved or reloaded. When you save a Workflow Definition, Ooyala Flex will find all related Workflow Instances and update the model. This is known as a Metadata merge. As a result of this, the save process could take some time to complete. This is also the reason why if you try and save a Metadata Definition that already exists, you will be presented with a pop-up dialogue asking you to confirm that you wish to proceed with a merge that may result in the loss of data.